SELEP’s role

In 2012 SELEP was given an indicative allocation £160+ million of EU funding for projects to create Jobs and Growth across the area. We created the ESIF Strategy after extensive stakeholder consultation and this was approved by the SELEP Strategic Board in December 2013 and submitted to the Government in January 2014. Project applications submitted under the ERDF, ESF and EAFRD programmes are evaluated for strategic fit with the ESIF Strategy.

This is considered by the SELEP ESIF Sub-Committee, which is formally constituted according to national terms of reference and reports to the National Growth Board. It is chaired by businessman and National Growth Board member, George Kieffer and meets quarterly. The Sub-Committee also agrees the content, size and scale of a rolling programme of calls for applications under each of the EU funds.

If you would like to know more or have any questions please contact us:

SELEP contacts

Lorraine George - lorraine.george@eastsussex.gov.uk

Jo Simmons - jo.simmons@eastsussex.gov.uk

Louise Aitken - louise.aitken@essex.gov.uk

Local area contacts

Katy Thomas- katy.thomas@eastsussex.gov.uk

Sarah Nurden - sarah.nurden@kent.gov.uk

Paul Dodson - paul.dodson@essex.gov.uk

Stephen Taylor - staylor@thurrock.gov.uk

Chris Burr - chrisburr@southend.gov.uk

Shane Convey - shane.convey@medway.gov.uk