European Structural Funds

The European Structural and Investment Fund Strategy (ESIF)

ESIF LogoThe ESIF Strategy has £160+ million of Structural Funds from the EU which is the SELEP area’s indicative allocation awarded by the Government for the 2014 – 2020 EU funding period. These funds are for projects that will deliver growth and jobs.

EISF funding is made up of the following funding for projects in the SELEP area.

  • £74,200,000 ERDF
  • £71,600,000 ESF and
  • £14.5 million EAFRD

SELEP Downloadable DocumentThe ESIF strategy document can be found here.

What will happen to the project funding post the EU Referendum?

Government has confirmed that all signed ESIF projects are guaranteed funding up to the point when the UK departs the EU – even when these projects continue after we have left the EU. Projects will have to demonstrate good value for money and be in line with domestic strategic priorities.

How to access these funds

EU Funding

During the operational phase of these programmes, between now and 2020, a series of “Calls for Applications” will be arranged by the programme Managing Authorities (MAs) and announced on the website. The Managing Authorities of the programmes are:

  • Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) for the ERDF Programme
  • Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) for the ESF Programme
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) for the EAFRD Programme

The MAs retain the liability for the EU Funds at national level and carry out the technical assessment of all project applications including eligibility, the gateway criteria and the value for money checks.

Announcement of Funding Calls

Or visit website here.

Each of the programmes operate in a different way. Check the relevant programme section of our website for further information.

Key Contacts

If you would like to know more or have any questions please contact us.

SELEP Contacts:

Lorraine George –
Jo Simmons -
Louise Aitken -

Local area contacts:

Katy Thomas -
Sarah Nurden -
Dominic Collins -
Stephen Taylor -
Chris Burr -
Shane Convey -