European Structural Funds

ESIF Logo

 

The European Structural and Investment Fund Strategy (ESIF)

The ESIF Strategy has £160 million of Structural Funds from the EU which is the SELEP area’s indicative allocation awarded by the Government for the 2014 – 2020 EU funding period. These funds are for projects that will deliver growth and jobs.

EISF funding is made up of:

£74,200,000 ERDF;

£71,600,000 ESF; and

£14.5 million EAFRD
available for projects in the SELEP area. The ESIF strategy document can be found here

What will happen to the project funding post the EU Referendum?

Government has confirmed that all signed ESIF projects are guaranteed funding up to the point when the UK departs the EU – even when these projects continue after we have left the EU. Projects will have to demonstrate good value for money and be in line with domestic strategic priorities.

How to access these funds

During the operational phase of these programmes, between now and 2020, a series of “Calls for Applications” will be arranged by the programme Managing Authorities (MAs) and announced on the www.gov.uk website.

The Managing Authorities of the programmes are:
• Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) for the ERDF Programme

• Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) for the ESF Programme

• Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) for the EAFRD Programme

The MAs retain the liability for the EU Funds at national level and carry out the technical assessment of all project applications including eligibility, the gateway criteria and the value for money checks.

Announcement of Funding Calls:

Calls for applications under the ERDF Programme are now live
click here for more information

Calls for applications under the EAFRD Programme are expected in January 2017
click here for more information

Tenders for ESF are expected to take place in the first quarter of 2017
click here for more information

Or visit www.gov.uk website here

Each of the programmes operate in a different way. Check the relevant programme section of our website for further information.

The ESIF Sub-Committee

The ESIF Sub-Committee’s job is to give a view on the strategic fit with the LEPs ESIF, the SEP and also the SELEP area The Sub-Committee also agrees the content, size and scale of a rolling programme of future calls for applications. The committee is formally constituted according to national terms of reference and reports to the National Growth Board. Chaired by business man and National Growth Board member, George Kieffer, the list of ESIF Sub-Committee members can be found here.

If you would like to know more or have any questions please contact us:

SELEP Contacts:

Lorraine George – lorraine.george@eastsussex.gov.uk

Jo Simmons - jo.simmons@eastsussex.gov.uk

Louise Aitken - louise.aitken@essex.gov.uk

Local area contacts:

Katy Thomas - katy.thomas@eastsussex.gov.uk

Ron Moys - ron.moys@kent.gov.uk

Paul Dodson - paul.dodson@essex.gov.uk

Tim Rignall - trignall@thurrock.gov.uk

Emma Cooney - emmacooney@southend.gov.uk

Shane Convey - shane.convey@medway.gov.uk